NOT just a Runner (plus Discount code!)

It’s OFFICIAL! I am registered for my FIRST triathlon!! The St. Anthony’s Triathlon will be my introduction to the Swim-Bike-Run world. I plan to share my training along the way as I squash the self-doubt attitude of “I’m just a runner,” and cross that finish line in April!

logo

 

Here’s the details…

Race Day: April 30th

Where: Vinoy Park in St. Petersburg, Florida

Event: Sprint Triathlon (750m open water swim, 20K bike, 5k run)

If you want more information, you can check it all out at www.satriathlon.com

I am local to this event and every year I see it come and go. This year, I have the opportunity to participate and I’m not letting anything stand in my way. I have been pretty consistent with my running lately and after completing the Best Damn Race 10K + 5K challenge, I was searching for a new goal. This is WAY out of my comfort zone and I think that is what excites me most. If we continue to stick with what we are comfortable with…we stop growing.

running
Best Damn Race 2017

I have 8 weeks to train and my theory is that this doesn’t have to be an expensive sport and I plan to find a way to get this done on a budget. After inquiring about training programs in my area, I was left with a quote for a Triathlon workshop costing $250 and a separate training plan costing $135. While I’m sure these make for great preparation, I have decided to follow a Beginner Training plan I found from Fitness Magazine. You can find the same program here!

With the training program laid out…my next mission is to research gear and get started learning more about this sport! Feel free to follow along with my journey on here and on Instagram!

If you are interested in joining in the training fun and doing this event you can register at this link and used code: SUNSHINE for 10% your entry fee!!  Please let me know when you sign up, so we can be accountability buddies along the way!

 

 

Leave a Reply

