Paleo Donuts

My child is a sugar fiend and every weekend I feel like I am being asked to go to Dunkin’ Donuts. In an effort to stay home, save money, and provide a healthier option…I made these Paleo Donuts! 

Let me tell you, they were a win for the whole family. Everyone loved them! They are perfect plain, but you could also add a topping. I drizzled mine with honey and I melted chocolate to drizzle on my daughter’s. 

This recipe is so easy. I threw all of the ingredients in my Vitamix and the batter was ready to go. I hope you enjoy them as much as we did!
Paleo Donuts (Gluten Free/Dairy Free)
Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 15 minutes 

Ingredients: 

1/4 cup honey

1/4 cup pure maple syrup (preferably Grade B) (can substitute more honey)

6 tablespoons, nonhydrogenated vegetable shortening (I used Earth Balance) , melted and cooled

2 eggs, at room temperature

2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract

2 tablespoons almond milk, at room temperature

1 3/4 cups blanched almond flour 

1 tablespoon coconut flour 

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt


Directions: 

1. Preheat oven to 325°F, grease a donut pan and set it aside.

2. Place all of the ingredients in the order listed in a blender and blend until smooth (alternatively, you can whisk the ingredients together by hand, but the batter will not be as smooth). The batter will not be pourable, but will be very soft and easily scooped.
 

3. Fill donut pan 3/4 full with batter and bake 15 minutes.

4. Cool on wire rack. Enjoy!


Recipe from Gluten Free on a Shoestring

6 thoughts on “Paleo Donuts

Leave a Reply

